EE in the news

Campus Heroes Get Student Appreciation Awards

SOCORRO, N.M. April 24, 2012 - Four New Mexico Tech students and two student organizations are the 2012 winners of the Student Appreciation Awards.

These outstanding contributors to campus life are Alyssa Rose, Allen Erickson, Brittney LeMay and Alan Benalil. The group winners are the student chapter of the Society of Women Engineers and the Kappa Sigma fraternity.

Nominated by faculty and staff members, the winners represent the most dedicated and involved students on campus. Not an academic award, these annual awards identify those students who contribute through volunteerism, community service, leadership and mentoring.

The four individual winners all share a common trait of being involved in many different organizations, clubs, teams and jobs. They all excel academically and were noted in their nominations for their positive attitudes.

The winners were officially recognized at a special dinner Sunday, April 22, at the Fidel Center ballroom.

Alan Benalil

Alan Benalil

In his nomination letter, electrical engineering professor Dr. Kevin Wedeward, said Benalil "exemplifies the mix of attributes one would hope to find in a student, which include quality of and balance between academics and extracurricular activities."

A native of Socorro, Benalil is the president of the Miners Soccer Club, volunteers as Peer Facilitator with the Center for Student Success and serves as Student Senator. He served as team leader in both junior design and senior design projects and is involved with the IEEE student club.

"I find Mr. Benalil a friendly, reliable and conscientious individual with whom myself and others enjoy interacting," Wedeward said. "His accomplishments and service have brought credit to himself and to New Mexico Tech."

... Read about the other students here.

- NMT -

By Thomas Guengerich/New Mexico Tech